top of page
  • Tyara Adelia Putri

Stop For A Second, There's More To Life




Second day of September on 2020. Covid-19 is still lingering our earth. Many nations are suffering. Some is surviving, but some is falling, not knowing when this pandemic will over.


Everyone's struggling, but, hell, politicians are the only species that take this disaster into opportunity, only to make the poor gets poorer and the rich gets richer.


Above all, we are getting suck into this Covid-19 hole where our energy's getting drained each day. We are about to lose all the energy, but what can we do though? So, everyone's holding to this one thing called "hope", believing this month will be better. Well, inside, we know it's gonna be a longer journey ahead, but "hope" keeps us alive.


I, too, get suck into this Covid-19 hole. I feel trapped, somehow, and most of the days, I only wait for things to get better. So that I could restart my life.


My thought there is the one that keeps me stuck in my current life, just like the others. I can't do anything right, because I'm too focused waiting for the brighter days.


But, you know what? I guess, that day will never come any soon and if I stuck with it, I'll just die with it by the end of the day.


So, couple days ago, I had a random joint pain on my right arm. It felt stiff and painful. I couldn't move my right hand at all. I can feel the pain for at least 3 days. I used to had it 4 months ago and a couple years ago. I never paid any attention to it before, because I was too busy with my life back then and I thought it would just be fine after I let it rest.


However, since I got stuck at home in the days of the pandemic without any fixed routines, my joint pain felt so much painful than it used to be. I felt so helpless.


Until finally, 3 days of doing nothing, but resting my whole body gave me this insight to not taking anything for granted. There are so much worse situation than this new kind of life within the pandemic, just like my joint pain. I thought, there's no point to keep feeling miserable, because, no matter what, life must goes on.


Then, I realized, I should've stopped for a moment, paused my life, and started to pay attention more. Covid-19 has draining our batteries for months and what I did before only letting this new normal situation sucks what I have left inside. I should've not got away with this desperate feeling wanting this pandemic over, waiting day by day, hoping things just get better on its own.


Sadly, it's not. It will never be.


My joint pain is one of many things that makes this situation feel worse than ever before. What's the point of living after the pandemic is over if I have joint pain all over my body where I can't move my body or if I develop a mental issue during the pandemic where I can't even start my life again like before? It's not only about surviving and waiting with a bunch of hope, it's also about taking care of myself both physically and mentally.


Start to pay attention to yourself. Listen to your body, take a rest, and live.


I didn't listen to my body for years and I kept denying it until I found that my joint pain could lead into something more serious like autoimmune diseases. So, I decided to make this year of 2020 to be the time for me to pay attention more to what happened surround me, and within myself.


I know there's only 3 months left, but it's better late than never, right? We better do what we can when there's still time. When you have everything, but time, you'd be surprised how important the time is.


I made my choice about what I'd do until the end of this year, now it's your turn to make one. What would you choose?

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page